Graduating Students Presented Top Awards

By | May 18, 2018
President’s Award recipient Emily Buzzard

President’s Award recipient Emily Buzzard

The exceptional achievements of graduating students in the Daemen College Class of 2018 were recognized at the annual Excellence Awards Ceremony held on May 18 as part of the college’s commencement weekend activities.

“This annual ceremony is a longstanding Daemen tradition to celebrate our highest-achieving graduating students who have excelled academically and contributed so much to our college community,” said Daemen President Gary Olson.

Departmental award winners for 2018 are:

Accounting and Business Administration

  • Jared Denis of Williamsville – Charles Sabatino Sport Management Graduate of the Year
  • William Olkowski of Snyder – Oustanding Graduating Senior Accounting Award
  • Melanie Vazquez of Cheektowaga – Excellence in Paralegal Studies

Athletic Training

  • Kaitlyn Gustafson of Amherst – Clinical Excellence Award
  • Jacob Habermehl of Cheektowaga – Sue Rocque Award


  • Sara Hornung of Getzville – Undergraduate Excellence in Education Award


  • Kelly Ferreira of Warsaw – Senior Capstone Award and John T. Masterson Award
  • Sara Hornung of Getzville – Katherine A. Sullivan Adolescent English Education Award and John T. Masterson Award


  • Logan Podrebarac of Burlington, Ont. – Excellence in Entrepreneurism

Health Promotion

  • Kirstie Hanson of Jamestown – Student of Distinction Award

History and Political Science

  • Brianna Zichettella of Newfield – Departmental Valedictorian Award and the Samual E. Morrison Award for Best Senior Thesis


  • Giambattista Davis of Cheektowaga – Euclid Award

Modern Languages

  • Erica Kreutzer of East Aurora – Modern Language 2018 Outstanding Senior Award
  • Allison Christie of Erie, Pa. – Outstanding Research Award
  • Hugo Juarez Guzman of Ridgewood – Outstanding Student Award


  • Todd Cwudzinski of Buffalo – Outstanding Leader Award (Graduate Student)
  • Glenda King of Rochester – Excellence in Advanced Nursing Practice Award (Graduate Student)
  • Joelle Kozierowski of Cheektowaga – Emerging Leader Award (Undergraduate Student)

Physical Therapy

  • Alec Courtney of Lancaster – New York Physical Therapy Association Student Participation Award
  • Morgan Montgomery of Marcellus – Richard Schweichler Award for Academic Excellence
  • Sarah Munella of North Tonawanda – Physical Therapy Department Faculty Recognition Award

Physician Assistant

  • Cassandra Stolzenburg of Lockport – Chair’s Award for Academic Excellence
  • Katrina Porzio of East Aurora – Graduate Anatomy Award

Psychological Sciences

  • Jordan Ammerman of Hamlin – Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
  • Danielle Smith of Buffalo – Outstanding Senior Thesis Award (Fall 2017)
  • Katrina Stork of Batavia and Andrea Stutz of Tonawanda – Outstanding Thesis Award (Spring 2018)

Master of Public Health

  • Lumeshwar Kumar of Clermont, Fla. – Master of Public Health Ambassador Award
  • Michelle Larimore of Horseheads – Master of Public Health Academic Achievement Award and Master of Public Health Leadership Award

Social Work and Sociology

  • Erica Biscotto of Williamsville – Outstanding Performance in Field Education (BASW)
  • Emily Buzzard of Ransomville – Outstanding Achievement in Social Work (BASW)
  • Diamond Ferguson of Buffalo – Outstanding Achievement in Social Work (MSW)
  • Mallory Tominich of Buffalo – Outstanding Performance in Field Education (MSW)

Visual and Performing Arts

  • Noah Herman of Warsaw – Samuel Pagano Award for Visual Communication
  • Jessica Mjoen of Silver Creek – Excellence in Student Achievement
  • Anthony Syracuse of Buffalo – Studio Achievement in Animation (“Sweatbox Award”)

Top campus-wide award recipients include:

  • Emily Buzzard of Ransomville – President’s Award, which recognizes an undergraduate student who has exhibited dedication, care and concern for their fellow students. She earned a bachelor’s degree in social work.
  • Hugo Juarez Guzman of Ridgewood – Mary Angela Canavan Award, which recognizes an undergraduate student who has made significant contributions to the betterment of student life at the college. He earned a bachelor’s degree in biology.
  • Braxton Stinson of Brooklyn – Alumni Senior Award, which recognizes an undergraduate student who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to the larger community. He earned a bachelor’s degree in in liberal studies.
  • Daemen College Tradition Keeper: The DC Book Medal – Taqiyah Gibbons of Yonkers, Mackenzie Pye of Brockport, Shaquilla Reid of Laurelton, Nancy Tolsma of Olean, and Rebecca Volmy of Lockport.