College Recognizes Outstanding Faculty and Staff

By | April 16, 2021

Three Daemen College faculty and staff were announced as recipients of the 2021 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards as part of President Gary Olson’s recent State of the College address, which was presented virtually due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s honorees are Mr. Derrick Swartz, chemistry lab coordinator for Natural Sciences, Outstanding Faculty Award; Ken Witkowski, facilities foreman, Outstanding Staff Award; and Ann Kelly, associate director of technology support, Outstanding Administrator Award.

“We are pleased to recognize and celebrate this year’s most outstanding members of the Daemen community who were nominated by their peers,” said Olson.

Swartz was praised as an “unsung hero who is always doing much more than ever expected or imagined.” He was applauded for greatly enhancing the college and the student experience and always volunteering for events and initiatives to advance the college.

Witkowski was commended as being a problem solver who is always kind, courteous and thoughtful. He was said to be a dedicated hard worker who is supportive and conscientious. The nominators commented that he takes great pride in helping others.

Kelly was praised for being “a professional and dedicated employee who is a creative thinker, and seems to work around the clock.” The nominators commented that she is “reliable (almost to a fault) and always has a smile and positive attitude.”