New Students Awarded Prestigious Trustee Scholarships

By | August 22, 2018

Trustee Scholar LogoDaemen College has selected eight outstanding first-year students to receive 2018 Trustee Scholarships, the college’s most prestigious academic scholarship that is renewable throughout their undergraduate studies. The college has also awarded five Transfer Trustee Scholarships to high-achieving new transfer students.

To be considered for the Trustee Scholarship, prospective first-year students are nominated by Daemen President Gary Olson to apply for the awards and then participate in interviews with college faculty and staff on Scholars Day. More than 175 students from Arizona, California, New Hampshire, Texas, Virginia, and other states from across the country competed for this year’s coveted scholarships.

Selection is based on academic achievement, vision for self and society, enthusiasm, and inspiration, academic and personal discipline, and leadership ability. Both intellect and character are considered, and selected scholars are those who have the potential to make a difference in their careers and in the Daemen and external communities.

Prospective transfer students are also nominated by Daemen’s president to compete for Trustee Scholarships and are interviewed on Transfer Scholars Night held in the spring. Scholarships are awarded to transfer students based on the same selection criteria as first-year recipients.

The 2018 Daemen Trustee Scholars are:

  • Ryan James of Buffalo, City Honors School – psychology major.
  • Jenny Mai of Buffalo, Hutchinson Central Technical High School – physician assistant studies major.
  • Erik Matthews of Ballston Lake, Galway High School – physical therapy major.
  • Kathryn Price of Fredonia, Fredonia High School – biology major.
  • Samantha Ritter of Fairport, Fairport High School – athletic training major.
  • Nicole Schmidt of Vienna, Va., George C. Marshall High School – political science major.
  • Alyson Spallina of Rochester, Churchville-Chili High School – business administration/sport management.
  • Kate Urkewich of Lancaster, Lancaster Central High School – childhood education (grades 1-6).

This year’s Transfer Trustee Scholars are:

  • Gillian Chorazak of Cheektowaga, SUNY Buffalo State – physical therapy major.
  • Corinne Edwards of Jamestown, Jamestown Community College – athletic training major.
  • Gina Foley of Lancaster, SUNY Erie Community College – business administration major.
  • Brenda Pryor of Niagara Falls, SUNY Erie Community College – social work major.
  • Danitra Simmons of Rochester, Jamestown Community College – social work major.