Daemen Presents Top Alumni Honors

By | November 3, 2017
Distinguished Alumni Awards 2017

(L-R) Chadwick Hopson, Kathleen Byron Heffern (on behalf of Joanne Moeller), Maggie Riccardi Dreyer, Daemen President Gary A. Olson, Elizabeth George Ivers, Mary Littlefield Durward (on behalf of Joanne Moeller), and Roger Warren Rogers.

Five outstanding Daemen College graduates were honored at the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards dinner held on Nov. 3.

At the awards ceremony, Daemen President Gary A. Olson noted, “As their exceptional achievements clearly demonstrate, our distinguished alums are doing extraordinary things right here in Western New York, throughout the nation, and around the globe. We congratulate this year’s honorees on their many successes.”

The 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients, who were selected by the National Alumni Board of Governors, are: Roger Warren Rogers, DO ‘98, of Wheatfield, Advancement in Career; Joanne Angelo Moeller ’64 (posthumously), Dedication to the College; Maggie Riccardi Dreyer, ’89, of Orchard Park, Service to the Community; and Chadwick Hopson ’10, of Sherman Oaks, Calif., Graduate of the Last Decade.

Distinguished Alumna Award 2017 (Ivers With Group)

Class of 1970 graduates State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Swartzenberg Elia; Elizabeth George Ivers, Distinguished Alumna Award recipient; Nora Wren Kerr; and Mary Jo Carroll Kenna.

The celebration concluded with President Olson presenting the Distinguished Alumna Award to Elizabeth George Ivers,’70. The award, which is the highest honor awarded to a graduate, recognizes a graduate who has achieved distinction in their career and in the community and has shown outstanding dedication to the college.

A Houston resident, Ivers has had a successful 43-year career at several major U.S. corporations, and is active in the community and a strong supporter of her alma mater.

Past Distinguished Alumni Award recipients from throughout the decades, family, friends, and members of the college community were in attendance to honor this year’s award recipients.