Student-Athlete Named to Top 100 Watch List

By | January 18, 2019
Andrew Sischo

Andrew Sischo

Andrew Sischo of the Daemen College men’s basketball team has been named to the Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List by Small College Basketball, a national organization that highlights the accomplishments of non-NCAA Division I basketball teams and student-athletes.

The Bevo Francis Award is named for the former basketball star at Rio Grande College who averaged 50.1 points per game during the 1952-53 season. It is awarded to the player who has had the finest season within Small College Basketball, which consists of NCAA Divisions II and III as well as the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA), and National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA).

Bevo Francis Award logo“This was an extremely difficult process, and I am very thankful to our committee for their input and feedback on many players throughout the country,” said John McCarty, founder of Small College Basketball. “When we look out over the landscape of small college basketball, we’re trying to find the best of the best, based on our criteria, out of about 1,100 to 1,200 colleges and universities. It is a real honor to be included on this prestigious list.”

Sischo is the lone player from the East Coast Conference to be included in the Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List, and one of six from NCAA Division II East Region teams.

The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 8. The award will be presented to the award winner on May 11 at the Small College Basketball National Awards Show in conjunction with the Small College Basketball Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City.