Top Student Leaders Recognized

By | May 19, 2017
Emily Currier and Dr. Greg Nayor, vice president for student affairs

Emily Currier and Dr. Greg Nayor, vice president for student affairs

Daemen College honored outstanding student leaders in clubs, organizations and departments at the college’s annual Student Leadership Awards Luncheon hosted May 4 by the Office of Student Affairs.

“Both academics and student engagement in leadership and co-curricular activities outside the classroom are important to student success,” said Dr. Greg Nayor, vice president for student affairs. “Coming together at the end of the year to celebrate these accomplishments shows how much our students contribute to the life of the college and to the student experience.”

The 2017 Daemen Student Leader of the Year award, which recognizes a student who has exhibited extraordinary efforts and achievement in student life at the college, was presented to Emily Currier of Rochester. A Class of 2017 graduate, she received a bachelor’s degree in physical therapy at the college’s commencement held on May 20.

The Student Leadership Awards Luncheon also honored Daemen students who have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders and named to the 2017 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

In addition, the event included the college’s third annual gavel ceremony to officially transfer responsibilities from the outgoing to the newly elected president of the Daemen Student Association.

Academic Advisement/Peer Mentor Program

  • Matthew Daley of Rochester


  • Sarah Bentley of Belmont
  • Kimberly Michielsen of Rochester
  • Morgan Villnave of Brasher Falls

Alumni Relations/Student Alumni Ambassadors

  • Christina Auguste of Brooklyn
  • Emily Currier of Rochester
  • McKinley Estime of Jersey City, N.J.
  • Araceli Flores of Whittier, Calif.
  • Lindsey Kreuzer of West Seneca
  • Lumeshwar Kumar of Bronx
  • Marisa Linde of Clarence
  • Nicole Scherer of Lancaster
  • Jarrett Streicher of Tonawanda

Arthur O. Eve HEOP (Higher Education Opportunity Program)

  • Luz Mota of Bronx
  • Braxton Stinson of Brooklyn


  • Mackenzie Donahue of East Aurora
  • Rachel Pawlak of North Tonawanda
  • Courtney Scanlan of Ellicottville
  • Amy Trabert of Amherst
  • Morgan Urbanek of Webster

Career Services

  • Emma Johnson of Nunda

Global Programs

  • Kaylin Corbran of Amherst
  • Lumeshwar Kumar of Bronx
  • Roberto Zambrano of Guayaquil, Ecuador

Housing and Residence Life

  • Christina Auguste of Brooklyn
  • Gianne Gerena of Brooklyn

Insight (college newspaper)

  • Summer Phillipson of Sandusky

Lambda Chi Lota

  • Madison Caccamise of Lockport
  • Taqiyah Williams of Brooklyn

LEADS (Leadership and Empowerment for the Active Development of Students)

  • Maram Alammary of Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Amal Alsuliman of Damman, Saudi Arabia
  • Maab Basha of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • van Coyle of Orchard Park

Social Work Alliance

  • Samantha Andrews of Rochester

Society for Human Resource Management

  • Jennifer Honer of Buffalo
  • Lumeshwar Kumar of Bronx
  • Kristen Schmidt of North Tonawanda
  • Morgan Villnave of Brasher Falls

Special Events 2017 Academic Festival

  • Kelly Ferreira of Warsaw
  • Summer Phillipson of Sandusky

Student Activities

  • Christina Auguste of Brooklyn
  • Natalie Ennis of North Tonawanda
  • McKinley Estime of Jersey City, N.J.
  • Sydney Mangin of Tonawanda
  • Sara Spence of Tonawanda

Student Physical Therapy Association

  • Binsy Benny of Morton Grove, Ill.
  • Sarah Munella of North Tonawanda
  • Alexandra Sokoloff of Erie, Pa.

Students named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges are selected based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities, and potential for continued success.

Daemen students selected for this distinction are : Christina Auguste of Brooklyn; Gina Benevento of Orchard Park; Julianna Brnik of Cheektowaga; Jacqueline Chmiel of Williamsville; Sean Christie of Erie, Pa.; Aaron Cole of Spencerport; Emily Currier of Rochester; Kyle Flierl of Buffalo; Taylor Heinold of Hamburg; Niko Jemmison of Bronx; Maryan Jumale of Buffalo; Janelle Legault of Garner, N.C.; Hannah Marvin of Newark; Leah McDonell of Grand Island; Shannon Meyers of Baldwin; Morgan Montgomery of Marcellus; Sarah Munella of North Tonawanda; William Olkowski of Snyder; Summer Phillipson of Franklinville; Idania Ramirez of Bronx; Jennifer Smyczynski of Getzville; Sara Spence of Tonawanda; Jarrett Streicher of Tonawanda; Allyson Thompson of West Monroe; Amy Trabert of Buffalo; Morgan Urbanek of Webster; Chad Van Every of Lakewood; Mark Veitengruber of Rockford, Mich.; Morgan Villnave of Brasher Falls; Rebecca Volmy of Lockport; and Brianna Zichettella of Newfield.

For the gavel ceremony, outgoing president Brandon Michael of Bronx, passed the gavel to Hugo Juarez of Ridgewood, who has been elected to serve as the 2017-18 Student Association president.

Other newly elected officers for the Student Association Executive Board are Taqiyah Gibbons of Yonkers, vice president of governing; Rebecca Volmy of Lockport, vice president of programming; Taylor Heinold of Hamburg, vice president of collegiate affairs; Shamella Jeffers of Brooklyn, treasurer; and Stephanie Lopez of Los Angeles, Calif., secretary. Class presidents will be elected this fall and will join the Executive Board to make up the 10-member Student Association Senate.