Students Awarded College’s Prestigious Trustee Scholarships

By | August 1, 2021

Daemen College has chosen 11 students to receive 2021 Trustee Scholarships, the college’s most prestigious academic award that is renewable throughout their undergraduate studies.

To be considered for the Trustee Scholarship, students are nominated by Daemen President Gary Olson to apply for the awards and then participate in interviews with the college. Traditionally, more than 200 students compete each year for the coveted scholarships and hail from high schools and transfer from institutions around the country. 

Selection is based on academic achievement, vision for self and society, leadership ability and other attributes and merits. Both intellect and character are considered, and selected scholars are those who have the potential to make a difference in their careers, in the Daemen community and wider world.

The 2021 Daemen Trustee Scholars are:

  • Cadence Russell, of Austin, Texas/ Dripping Springs High School; to study: Natural Science—Environmental Studies
  • Deja Leverette, of Buffalo/ Nardin Academy; to study: Business Administration, Sport Management
  • Kiana Webber, of West Haven, Connecticut/ Cooperative Arts and Humanities Magnet High School; to study: Animation
  • Cassandra Moss, of Cortlandt Manor, New York/ Walter Panas High School; to study: Athletic Training
  • Haylee Thornley, of Batavia, New York/ Batavia High School; to study: Physical Therapy
  • Ronya Al-aggi, of Stockton, California/ Lincoln High School; to study in Physician Assistant Studies Program
  • Stephen John, of West Seneca, New York/ West Seneca West Senior High School; to study: Mathematics, Adolescence Education 7-12
  • Lauren Bell, of Canandaigua, New York/ Bloomfield Central School ; to study in Physician Assistant Studies Program
  • Julia Payne, of Arkport, New York/ Arkport High School; to study: Pre-Medicine
  • Megan Hoyden, of Lancaster, New York/ Lancaster Central High School; to study: Pre-Pharmacy in 3+4 SUNY UB Partnership Program